About us

Year of Establishment: 1901

Location: Physics Campus, Panbazar, Guwahati-781001

E-mail: hodphysics@cottonuniversity.ac.in


History: Department of Physics, Cotton University (Erstwhile Cotton College) was one of the few Departments with which Cotton University stared its epic journey in 1901. Also, one of the first five founder teachers of Cotton College, Prof Chunilal De belonged to the Department. Physics Classes during the initial years were held in the Assam type building which presently houses the Chemistry Department of the University. In the year 1909, the Department was shifted to Bhuban Ram Das Bhawan (Formerly Old Curzon Hall). In 1958, Physics Department was shifted to its present building. It was the first Department in Cotton College, where Post Graduate Course was introduced under Gauhati University in 1969. The Department of Physics is the pioneer in the field of research since inception in this part of the country. Stalwarts like Dr. H. C. Bhuyan, Dr. S. M. Mali, Dr. P. Shyam, Dr. G. C. Deka (who did his research under Nobel Laureate C .F. Powell) and Dr. K. D. Krori carried out their research works in this Department.  Dr. K. M. Pathak, former Vice-Chancellor of Tezpur University was a scholar of this Department and he later became the first recipient of the PhD degree from Gauhati University. Physics Department has received the financial assistance from DST, Govt. of India under its “Fund for Infrastructure Development in Science and Technology in Higher Educational Institution (FIST) Programme”. The Department has also been receiving financial assistance from the UGC since 2008-09 under the scheme “Rejuvenation of Basic Scientific Research in Indian Universities/PG Colleges”. The Department has continued Research Programme (regular mode) in the thrust area of research:1. Advanced Astronomy and Astrophysics, 2. Advanced Computing 3. Gravitational Wave Science, 4. High Energy Physics, 5. Nonlinear Optics and Applications, 6. Material Sciences, 7. Nanomaterials for Optoelectronics 8. Plasma Processing, 9. Radiation Physics, 10. Radon: Exposure Risks and Measurements, 11. Accretion Physics and Radiative and 12. General Circulation and Climate (Atmospheric Physics).