About the Department

Department of Physics, Cotton University (Erstwhile Cotton College) was one of the few Departments with which Cotton University started its epic journey in 1901. It was the first Department in Cotton College, where Post Graduate Course was introduced under Gauhati University in 1969. The Department of Physics is the pioneer research actibities since inception in this part of the country. Prominent Scholars like Dr. H. C. Bhuyan, Dr. G. C. Deka, Dr. K. D. Krori and Dr. K. M. Pathak carried out their research works in this Department. Physics Department has received the financial assistance from DST, Govt. of India under its “Fund for Infrastructure Development in Science and Technology in Higher Education."